Matthew Phillips and Ben Kearns take aim at 2017 ISDE in France


Matthew Phillips

Matthew Phillips


Phillips' Sherco 300 SE-R

Ben Kearns

Ben Kearns


Kearns' Sherco 300 SEF-R

The 92nd International Six Day Enduro will begin tonight (Australian time) in France and Team Australia is gunning for the coveted crown. Held in Brive-la-Gaillarde, in the region of Corrèze, riders will race up to 250km for each of the first five days, including five special tests each day before the final motocross test on day-six.

Current EnduroGP world champion Matthew Phillips will be an integral part of the four-man Australian Trophy Team that includes Daniel Sanders, Daniel Milner and Josh Green. Phillips will ride a Sherco 300 SE-R two-stroke which is a notable change from his usual mount of the Sherco 300 SEF-R four-stroke.

“The Six Day is such an exciting race,” stated Sherco Australia’s Stephen Tuff. “It will be interesting to watch Matthew on the powerful two-stroke. The tracks in the ISDE are commonly more open and fast in comparison to the highly technical tracks often seen in the EnduroGP world championship so I think Matthew’s decision to race the two-stoke could put him in a very competitive position. He’s won a world championship on a two-stroke before so he knows what he is doing.”

The Australian Trophy Team is very strong and will be regarded as hot favorite alongside the host Team from France and reigning ISDE champions the USA.

“The ISDE is quite different from EnduroGP racing and even Australian Off-Road Championship racing where riders are chasing individual results,” Tuff continued. “The ISDE is often labelled the Olympics of Enduro due to it being a Team event. Of course, riders are wanting to do their best, however, the Team result is main goal.”

Fellow Australian Ben Kearns will race in the three-man Australia Club Team aboard a Sherco 300 SEF-R alongside Scott Campbell and 1997 World Enduro Champion, Shane Watts.

You can keep up to date with the 2017 ISDE at

View the opening ceremony highlights here:


Photo credit: John Pearson Media