Sherco's Wade Young scored a runaway win in round six of the 2021 Hard Enduro World Championship in Poland on September 11.

A shrewd gamble to pit one lap later than his main rivals paid handsome dividends for the South African, who dominated the second half of the three-hour race on his 300 SE Factory as the track really began to deteriorate – conditions which Young revelled in!

Young’s first victory of the season saw him finish nearly four minutes ahead of Billy Bolt, followed by Manuel Lettenbichler, Dominik Olszowy and his Sherco factory teammate Mario Roman.

Young’s clinical and tactical masterpiece was his first win in the hard enduro series since the Red Bull Romaniacs in 2019.

“I’m so happy to pull off the win. I felt really comfortable out there today. My start wasn’t ideal – I got a bit boxed off – but I stayed relaxed because I knew my pace was good, said Young.

“Once I got with the guys, I settled in. I gambled on riding an extra lap before pitting and that gained me some time too. In the second half my flow was good. I was hitting my lines, putting in my times and took it home for the win. It’s been an awesome day.”

With two rounds remaining, the battle for championship honours is tightening at the top, with Bolt (70pts) the new leader ahead of Lettenbichler (69), an emboldened Young (60) and Roman (48).

The second last round will be held in Spain from October 1-3.

Results: Rd6: HERO Challenge
1. Wade Young (Sherco) 7 laps, 3:03:01
2. Billy Bolt (Husqvarna) 7 laps, 3:06:48
3. Manuel Lettenbichler (KTM) 7 laps, 3:07:09
4. Dominik Olszowy (KTM) 7 laps, 3:08:01
5. Mario Roman (Sherco) 7 laps, 3:08:31
6. Jonny Walker (Beta) 7 laps, 3:13:51
7. Alfredo Gomez (Husqvarna) 7 laps, 3:14:38
8. Travis Teasdale (GASGAS) 7 laps, 3:16:35
9. Michael Walkner (GASGAS) 7 laps, 3:17:35
10. William Hoare (GASGAS) 7 laps, 3:20:52

FIM Hard Enduro World Championship standings (after 6 of 8 rounds)
1. Billy Bolt (Husqvarna) 70pts
2. Manuel Lettenbichler (KTM) 69pts
3. Wade Young (Sherco) 60pts
4. Mario Roman (Sherco) 48pts
5. Jonny Walker (Beta) 44pts
6. Alfredo Gomez (Husqvarna) 33pts
7. Michael Walkner (GASGAS) 28pts
8. Taddy Blazusiak (GASGAS) 26pts
9. Teodor Kabakchiev (Husqvarna) 21pts
10. Dominik Olszowy (KTM) 21pts